Northern Pulse Growers Association
About Us Legislative Issues Events Feed/Livestock Pulse Consumers Pulse Research Publications/Media Kids/Educators Links
Producers Industry Professionals

About Us
ND Dry Pea & Lentil Council

Due to the tremendous growth of dry peas, lentils, chickpeas, and lupins in ND during the late 90's, the ND Dry Pea & Lentil Association introduced legislation during the 1997 Legislative session to create a check-off on the sale of dry peas and lentils. The growers established the Council to manage growers investment to best utilize the dollars in the areas of marketing, research, education and promotion. For information on how checkoff dollars are utilized, click the document link below.

The Council consists of five producers from different regions of North Dakota. Each producer is elected to serve a three year term. The five elected growers are elected in district elections by county representatives. The county representatives are elected within their county by a vote of all growers who produce dry peas, lentils, chickpeas or lentils.

First Purchaser Requirements
According to the ND Dry Pea & Lentil Council Act effective July 1, 1997, all first purchasers of pulse crops grown or sold in North Dakota must deduct an assessment of 1% of net value and remit the collections to the ND Dry Pea & Lentil Council. The Act defines a first purchaser as "any person, firm, corporation, association, partnership, agent, or broker buying, accepting for sale, or otherwise acquiring dry peas and lentils after harvest from a grower." If you are a first purchaser or plan to be and require more information, contact the office at 701-222-0128. For a complete copy of the ND Dry Pea & Lentil Council Act, click the document link below.

ND Dry Pea & Lentil Council

District I
Jeff Knox
PO Box 22
Ray, ND 58849

District II
Jeremy Huether
105 Montana Ave.
Mott, ND 58646

District III
Richard Mickelson, Vice Chairman
PO Box 786
Rolla ND 58367

District IV
James Haux
1690 2nd Ave NE
McClusky ND 58463

District V
Kevin Haas, Chairman
7405 46th St. SE
Jamestown ND 58401

Ex-Officio Member
Doug Goehring
ND Department of Ag
600 E Boulevard Ave
Bismarck ND 58505

Legal Counsel
Matthew Arnold Sagsveen
Attorney Generals Office
900 E Boulevard Ave
Bismarck ND 58505

Shannon Berndt

Additional Related Information


Check Off Brochure
File Size: 706.61 kb

NDDPLC Council Act
File Size: 607.49 kb

Thank you to our Platinum Sponsors
Columbia Grain Great Northern Ag novozymes JM Grain
AGT FoodsDakota Dry BeanLM

Phone: 701.222.0128
Fax: 701.222.6340
Email: Click to email
Website: www.northernpulse.com
1710 Burnt Boat Drive Suite 4
Bismarck, ND 58503